index page for Delicado Album Details
Quincy Plays for Pussycats  - Quincy Jones - 1965
Label: Mercury SR61050 (USA)
Format: LP
From: USA
My rating: 6/10

Entered: 06/24/2002
Last updated: 05/03/2003

Post a comment
Search on Ebay
Search on GEMM

This LP is sealed. I'll open it tonight and report back. The tracks are:

  1. What's New Pussycat
  2. The Gentle Rain
  3. Blues in the Night
  4. After Hours
  5. Blues For Trumpet & Koto
  6. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  7. A Walk in the Black Forest
  8. Non-Stop To Brazil
  9. The Hucklebuck
  10. Mack The Knife
  11. Sermonette
  12. The "In" Crowd

Reporting back: It's a nice album, although the arrangements are slightly more brassy and less stringy than I woiuld have liked. Overall, it has a very mid-60s style sound, not unlike records I own by Les and Larry Elgart (that great 'gogo' record featuring 'St. James Infirmary') and Enoch Light (the discotheque albums). So, I like this, but it's not totally where I'm at right now.

   Quick Search (this will search review text, performer, title and year):    

musical taste home