index page for Delicado Album Details
Bacharach Baroque  - The 18th Century Corporation - 1968
Label: United Artists UAS6697 (USA)
Format: LP
My rating: 8/10

Entered: 05/12/2002
Last updated: 00/00/0000

Post a comment
Search on Ebay
Search on GEMM

If ever a record was made for me, it was this. It's a really beautiful album of Bacharach covers recorded by German studio musicians in a pseudo-classical baroque style. The instrumentation is guitar, harpshichord, viola d'amore, drums, etc. Some tracks are slightly funky. All are rather swinging and excellent. The track choices are right on. Highlights for me are 'walk on by' and 'casino royale', but it's really all excellent.

  1. Do you know the way to San Jose
  2. This Guy's in Love with You
  3. Promises, Promises
  4. I say a little prayer
  5. Walk on By
  6. Casino Royale
  7. Reach out for me
  8. Wishin’ & Hopin’
  9. Message to Michael
  10. Alfie
  11. Are you there with another girl
  12. What the World Needs Now is Love

Musicians: Siegfried Schwab, Joe Slabyhoudek, Adie Feurstein, Manfred Huebler, Rosy (cool wordless vocals), Winfried Rotzoll, Heinz Niemeyer, Dai Bowen, Heinz Cramer, Juergen Ehlers. Produced by Hans Bradtke. Recorded in Berlin, Germany at Sonopress-Studio.

   Quick Search (this will search review text, performer, title and year):    

musical taste home